Sciences et mathématiques

Affichage de 1-10 sur 40 titre(s)
Trier par:

The Clocks Are Telling Lies

Evocative of John Vaillant’s The Golden Spruce and Jon Krakauer’s Into the Wild, this fascinating portrait of John Bjornstrom—a far-from-ordinary fugitive—makes for a page-turning read. | The ...

The Material Theory of Induction

Par (auteur) John D. Norton
Catégories: Histoire des sciences
Séries: BSPS Open

The burden of a theory of inductive inference is to determine which inductive inferences are good and why they are so. This book argues against the assumption that inductive inference can be accommodated ...

Taming Fruit

Par (auteur) Bernd Brunner
Traduit par Lori Lantz
Catégories: Botanique

A captivating cultural and scientific history of orchards, perfect for readers of Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire. Throughout history, orchards have served many sacred purposes: they are sites ...

Science Goes Viral

Par (auteur) Dr. Joe Schwarcz
Catégories: Chimie

Dr. Joe provides a framework for coming to grips with the onslaught of COVID-19 information and misinformation. He reminds us that although our daily activities have been hijacked by the pandemic, life ...

Technologies of the New Real

With astonishing speed and little public debate, we now live in a reality where interactions with drones, robotic bodies, and surveillance are common. Synthetic biology is merging with artificial intelligence ...

Saved by Science

Par (auteur) Mark J. Poznansky
Catégories: Génétique (non-médical)

Examines the evolution of synthetic biology and looks at the power of microbes to effect dramatic changes in three of the most pressing crises facing mankind: food, medicine, and climate.

The Rise of Wolf 8

Par (auteur) Rick McIntyre
Avant-propos de Robert Redford
Catégories: Zoologie et sciences animales

Yellowstone National Park was once home to an abundance of wild wolves—but park rangers killed the last of their kind in the 1920s. Decades later, the rangers brought them back, with the first wolves ...

Les buveurs de lait sont des mutants et autres révélations étonnantes de la biologie

Par (auteur) Guy Drouin
Catégories: Biologie et sciences de la vie

This captivating foray into the world of biology, tinged with a hint of humor, is brought to you by a seasoned and passionate geneticist who is happy to popularize the most difficult aspects of the matter. ...

The Universe Explained

Answers to the most popular astronomy questions of today. Over the course of their illustrious work in astronomy, the authors collected hundreds of the most popular astronomy questions that they’ve ...

A Feast of Science

Par (auteur) Dr. Joe Schwarcz
Catégories: Chimie

A Feast of Science demystifies the chemistry of everyday life, serving up practical knowledge to both inform and entertain. Guaranteed to satiate your hunger for palatable and relevant scientific information, ...