Mathematics and Science

Showing 1-10 of 43 title(s)
Sort by:

Tuzo

Your home is not where it was last night, and it will be in a different place tomorrow. This is the result of plate tectonics, a process most of us accept without hesitation today, but whose discovery ...

Nature's Wild Ideas

By (author) Kristy Hamilton
Categories: Classical mechanics

A lively and endlessly fascinating deep-dive into nature and the many groundbreaking human inventions inspired by the wild. 

Fans of Helen Scales won’t want to miss this.”—Publishers Weekly   ...

The Clocks Are Telling Lies

Until the nineteenth century all time was local time. On foot or on horseback, it was impossible to travel fast enough to care that noon was a few minutes earlier or later from one town to the next. The ...

Taming Fruit

By (author) Bernd Brunner
Translated by Lori Lantz
Categories: Botany and plant sciences

A captivating cultural and scientific history of orchards, perfect for readers of Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire. Throughout history, orchards have served many sacred purposes: they are sites ...

Science Goes Viral

By (author) Dr. Joe Schwarcz
Categories: Chemistry

Dr. Joe provides a framework for coming to grips with the onslaught of COVID-19 information and misinformation. He reminds us that although our daily activities have been hijacked by the pandemic, life ...

Saved by Science

By (author) Mark J. Poznansky
Categories: Genetics (non-medical)

Examines the evolution of synthetic biology and looks at the power of microbes to effect dramatic changes in three of the most pressing crises facing mankind: food, medicine, and climate.

The Rise of Wolf 8

By (author) Rick McIntyre
Foreword by Robert Redford
Categories: Zoology and animal sciences

Yellowstone National Park was once home to an abundance of wild wolves—but park rangers killed the last of their kind in the 1920s. Decades later, the rangers brought them back, with the first wolves ...

Making Surveillance States

Making Surveillance States opens up new and exciting perspectives on how systems of state surveillance developed over the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The book challenges us to rethink the presumed ...

Renewal

By (author) Andrés R Edwards
Foreword by Marc Bekoff
Categories: Applied ecology

Renewal explores the science behind why being in nature makes us feel alive and helps us thrive. Backed by cutting-edge research in cognitive science, Edwards weaves stories that reveal nature’s genius, ...

Les buveurs de lait sont des mutants et autres révélations étonnantes de la biologie

By (author) Guy Drouin
Categories: Biology, life sciences

This captivating foray into the world of biology, tinged with a hint of humor, is brought to you by a seasoned and passionate geneticist who is happy to popularize the most difficult aspects of the matter. ...