Études culturelles

Affichage de 1-10 sur 41 titre(s)
Trier par:

Growing and Eating Sustainably

The industrial food system, from production to consumption and waste, is a major contributor to environmental, social, and economic problems. Powerful multinational corporations have consolidated control ...

La Charte / The Charter

The present volume examine impacts of the Charter, primarily in relation to English-speaking minority communities in Quebec.

Cet ouvrage examine les répercussions de la Charte, principalement en ce qui ...

Du beurre ou des canons

Ce livre explore l’expérience de la faim et des privations, constitutive de l’histoire allemande au début du XXe siècle, ainsi que le reflet de cette expérience dans la mémoire sociale, comprise ...

Lost Feast

For readers of Michael Pollan and Anthony Bourdain comes an entertaining yet scholarly book about the foods we have loved to death. From passenger pigeons to megafauna, Newman identifies certain foods ...

Canada’s Official Languages

Canada’s official languages legislation fundamentally altered the composition and operational considerations of federal institutions. With legislative change, Canada’s public service has achieved ...

Le Canada, une culture de métissage/Transcultural Canada

Par (auteur) Paul Duncan Morris
Catégories: Études culturelles

En s’inspirant de la ville de Winnipeg – lieu paradigmatique de la confluence des cultures autochtone, francophone, allophone et anglophone au Canada –, les auteurs de ce recueil s’interrogent ...

Symbols of Canada

From Timbits to totem poles, Canada is boiled down to its syrupy core in symbolic forms that are reproduced not only on t-shirts, television, and tattoos but in classrooms, museums, and courtrooms too. ...

Real Life Super Heroes

Par (auteur) Nadia Fezzani
Catégories: Culture populaire

Dressed like comic-book vigilantes, real-life superheroes are out there. They go out at night, fight crime, save people, and some of them even have secret identities. Are they ordinary, mild-mannered ...

Eat the Beetles!

Eat the Beetles! is an evolutionary, ecological, and cultural exploration of our conflicted relationship with having insects on the dinner plate. Epidemiologist, veterinarian, and The Origin of Feces ...

Beyond "Understanding Canada"

The dismantling of “Understanding Canada”—an international program eliminated by Canada’s Conservative government in 2012—posed a tremendous potential setback for Canadianists. Yet Canadian ...