Cultural studies

Showing 1-10 of 44 title(s)
Sort by:

La monstruosité en face

By (author) Jean-François Chassay
Categories: Cultural studies
Series: Cavales

Les monstres ont toujours existé, et on les représente au moins depuis l’Antiquité. Pourtant, ce terme qui était populaire il y a quelques décennies à peine est rarement énoncé de nos jours, ...

Growing and Eating Sustainably

The industrial food system, from production to consumption and waste, is a major contributor to environmental, social, and economic problems. Powerful multinational corporations have consolidated control ...

Narratology in Practice

By (author) Mieke Bal
Categories: History of art

This companion to the international classic Narratology: Introduction to the Theory of Narrative makes the well-known theory useful not only in literary studies, but in other disciplines in the humanities ...

Goodbye, Guns N’ Roses

By (author) Art Tavana
Categories: Popular music

The final statement on one of the greatest bands of the twentieth century. A definitive, uncensored and exclusive biography of Guns N’ Roses entire history from a celebrated music journalist with exclusive ...

Du beurre ou des canons

Ce livre explore l’expérience de la faim et des privations, constitutive de l’histoire allemande au début du XXe siècle, ainsi que le reflet de cette expérience dans la mémoire sociale, comprise ...

Mongolian Chronicles

In the shadows of the Altai Mountains live the Kazakh nomads of western Mongolia. These hard-living nomads survive on windswept steppes, grazing their herds and keeping an ancient practice alive: hunting ...

Lost Feast

For readers of Michael Pollan and Anthony Bourdain comes an entertaining yet scholarly book about the foods we have loved to death. From passenger pigeons to megafauna, Newman identifies certain foods ...

Canada’s Official Languages

Canada’s official languages legislation fundamentally altered the composition and operational considerations of federal institutions. With legislative change, Canada’s public service has achieved ...

Le Canada, une culture de métissage/Transcultural Canada

By (author) Paul Duncan Morris
Categories: Cultural studies

En s’inspirant de la ville de Winnipeg – lieu paradigmatique de la confluence des cultures autochtone, francophone, allophone et anglophone au Canada –, les auteurs de ce recueil s’interrogent ...

Symbols of Canada

From Timbits to totem poles, Canada is boiled down to its syrupy core in symbolic forms that are reproduced not only on t-shirts, television, and tattoos but in classrooms, museums, and courtrooms too. ...