Engagement politique

Affichage de 1-10 sur 22 titre(s)
Trier par:

Women Winning Office

Par (auteur) Peggy Nash
Catégories: Élections et référendums

When Peggy Nash first decided to run for elected office, she had no idea where to start, who to contact, or what the rules were. For those who are underrepresented in political life, politics can seem ...

Ecoliberation

Par (auteur) Jennifer D. Grubbs
Catégories: Terrorisme, lutte armée
Séries: Outspoken

A captivating glimpse into the world of direct action, animal and earth liberation, and political repression. Tracing the strategies of liberationist activists as they grapple with doing activism under ...

Almost Feral

On July 2, 2015, influential social activist Gemma Hickey began a 908-kilometre walk across Newfoundland to raise awareness and funds for survivors of religious institutional abuse. Almost Feral celebrates ...

Holocaust to Resistance, My Journey

Born to Jewish parents in Paris in 1941, Suzanne was hidden from the Nazis on a farm in rural France. Alone after the war, she lived in Communist-run orphanages, where she gained a belief in peace and ...

Orange Chinook

The first scholarly analysis of the unprecedented New Democratic Party victory in the 2015 Alberta Provincial Elections, Orange Chinook brings together Alberta’s top political watchers to explore the ...

The Blueprint

In this collection, Lewis and Everitt bring together a group of up-and-coming political scientists, as well as senior scholars to explore the recent history of the Conservative Party of Canada, covering ...

Radical Transformation

Par (auteur) Kevin MacKay
Catégories: Engagement politique

Drawing on a vast knowledge of history, human evolution, philosophy, and modern complexity theory, MacKay tells a story that recognizes the marvels of human civilization while revealing its dark tendency ...

Nothing to Lose but Our Fear

While the scale of recent uprisings may be unprecedented, the refusal of fear is not unique to our time.

As the Egyptian revolution gained momentum, a common refrain echoed across Tahrir Square: “The ...

Time Will Say Nothing

Sorbonne-educated and the author of almost 30 books, Ramin Jahanbegloo, a philosopher of non-violence in the tradition of Tolstoy and Gandhi, was arrested and detained in Iran's notorious Evin Prison ...

Languages of the Unheard

Par (auteur) Stephen D'Arcy
Catégories: Engagement politique

Languages of the Unheard addresses a timely and controversial topic: the ethics and politics of militant resistance.

“What we must see,” Martin Luther King once insisted, “is that a riot is the ...