Engagement politique

Affichage de 1-10 sur 27 titre(s)
Trier par:

Whipped

Whipped examines the hidden ways that political parties exert control over elected members of Canadian legislatures. Drawing on extensive interviews with politicians and staffers across the country, award-winning ...

Brotherhood to Nationhood

Charged with fresh material and new perspectives, this updated edition of the groundbreaking biography Brotherhood to Nationhood brings George Manuel and his fighting tradition into the present. George ...

Almost Feral

On July 2, 2015, influential social activist Gemma Hickey began a 908-kilometre walk across Newfoundland to raise awareness and funds for survivors of religious institutional abuse. Almost Feral celebrates ...

Holocaust to Resistance, My Journey

Born to Jewish parents in Paris in 1941, Suzanne was hidden from the Nazis on a farm in rural France. Alone after the war, she lived in Communist-run orphanages, where she gained a belief in peace and ...

Orange Chinook

The first scholarly analysis of the unprecedented New Democratic Party victory in the 2015 Alberta Provincial Elections, Orange Chinook brings together Alberta’s top political watchers to explore the ...

Real Life Super Heroes

Par (auteur) Nadia Fezzani
Catégories: Culture populaire

Dressed like comic-book vigilantes, real-life superheroes are out there. They go out at night, fight crime, save people, and some of them even have secret identities. Are they ordinary, mild-mannered ...

The Blueprint

In this collection, Lewis and Everitt bring together a group of up-and-coming political scientists, as well as senior scholars to explore the recent history of the Conservative Party of Canada, covering ...

Radical Transformation

Par (auteur) Kevin MacKay
Catégories: Engagement politique

Drawing on a vast knowledge of history, human evolution, philosophy, and modern complexity theory, MacKay tells a story that recognizes the marvels of human civilization while revealing its dark tendency ...

Nothing to Lose but Our Fear

While the scale of recent uprisings may be unprecedented, the refusal of fear is not unique to our time.

As the Egyptian revolution gained momentum, a common refrain echoed across Tahrir Square: “The ...

Time Will Say Nothing

Sorbonne-educated and the author of almost 30 books, Ramin Jahanbegloo, a philosopher of non-violence in the tradition of Tolstoy and Gandhi, was arrested and detained in Iran's notorious Evin Prison ...