Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Livres Canada Books is governed by a Board of Directors. Members volunteer their time and expertise to lead the strategic planning and approval of policies and operations.

The Board is composed of seasoned business professionals of organizations and enterprises representing all sectors of the Canadian publishing industry.

Equally divided between English and French-language publishers, Board members are affiliated with the Association of Canadian Publishers (ACP), the Association nationale des éditeurs de livres (ANEL), the Association of Canadian University Presses (ACUP) and the Canadian Publishers’ Council (CPC). Two professional advisors who are not publishers but are familiar with the Canadian publishing industry also sit on the Board.

The Board oversees five committees responsible for specific areas of service: Executive and Finance, Export Expertise, Nominating and Governance, Business Plan, and Frankfurt 2021.


Semareh Al-Hillal, House of Anansi Press / Groundwood Books (ACP)

Patrick Poirier, Presses de l’Université de Montréal (ACUP)

Barbara Creary, Dominique et compagnie / Éditions Héritage inc. (ANEL)

Lisa Quinn, McGill-Queen’s University Press (ACUP)

Executive Director
François Charette


Sophane Beaudin-Quintin, Éditions Michel Quintin (ANEL)

Frédéric Brisson, Éditions David (ANEL)

Marc Laberge, TC Media Livres (CPC)

Prune Lieutier (Professional advisor)

Félix Philantrope, Le Quartanier Éditeur (ANEL)

Graham Angus, Theytus Books (ACP)

Christa Dickenson, Cable Public Affairs Channel (CPAC), Professional advisor

Gayna Theophilus, Annick Press (ACP)