NATURE

Showing 1-10 of 120 titles.
Sort by:

Escape from Overshoot

Earth overshoot will end either by design or by disaster. Which future should we choose?

Earth is in overshoot. The cumulative impact of 8 billion humans combined with the relentless pursuit of economic ...

Born with a Copper Spoon

Over the past two centuries, industrial societies have demanded ever-increasing quantities of copper – essential for light, power, and communication. Born with a Copper Spoon examines how the metal has ...

In the Name of Wild

Five continents. Ten countries. Twenty Natural World Heritage sites in five years. In the Name of Wild is the story of what happened when one family set out to learn what wildness means to people around ...

Nature's Wild Ideas

By (author) Kristy Hamilton
Categories: Classical mechanics

A lively and endlessly fascinating deep-dive into nature and the many groundbreaking human inventions inspired by the wild.

"Delightful."—The Guardian

"Fans of Helen Scales won't want to miss this."— ...

Dark Days at Noon

The catastrophic runaway wildfires advancing through North America and other parts of the world are not unprecedented. Fires loomed large once human activity began to warm the climate in the 1820s, leading ...

Planktonia

When people hear the word "migration," they think of animals that move from a feeding area to a breeding area and back each year. But the greatest migration on Earth happens twice every night. The movement ...

Woman, Watching

From award-winning author Merilyn Simonds, a remarkable biography of an extraordinary woman — a Swedish aristocrat who survived the Russian Revolution to become an internationally renowned naturalist, ...

Passions for Birds

Whether as sources of joy and pleasure to be fed, counted, and watched, as objects of sport to be hunted and killed, or as food to be harvested, wild birds evoke strong feelings.

Sean Nixon traces the ...

Still Hopeful

By (author) Maude Barlow
Categories: Civics and citizenship

From her days in second-wave feminist activism to her battle against the precursor to NAFTA to her indefatigable fight for social justice and water rights for all, Maude shares her stories and her expertise ...

Taming Fruit

By (author) Bernd Brunner
Translated by Lori Lantz
Categories: Botany and plant sciences

A captivating cultural and scientific history of orchards, perfect for readers of Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire. Throughout history, orchards have served many sacred purposes: they are sites ...