Conservation of the environment

Showing 1-10 of 23 title(s)
Sort by:

Your Plastic Footprint

Your Plastic Footprint educates readers about the origins and scope of the plastic problem, helps them measure the scale of the problem on an individual level and then offers solutions on how to rethink ...

Talking with Bears

Talking with Bears is an intimate portrait of Charlie Russell’s philosophy of nature, which evolved over the 76 years he graced this planet. Accompanied by stunning photography, the book is written ...

Changing Tides

In Changing Tides, Alejandro Frid, an ecologist working with Indigenous people, argues that a merger of scientific perspectives and Indigenous knowledge might just help us change the story we tell ourselves ...

Lost Feast

For readers of Michael Pollan and Anthony Bourdain comes an entertaining yet scholarly book about the foods we have loved to death. From passenger pigeons to megafauna, Newman identifies certain foods ...

Passion and Persistence

Diane Pinch’s non-fiction homage to Sierra Club BC provides an overview of the lasting impact the group has had, not only in BC, but in all of Canada. Replete with first-hand accounts, maps, and photos, ...

Whose Water Is It, Anyway?

Former senior water advisor to the UN General Assembly Maude Barlow chronicles the history of the Blue Communities movement and explains how regular citizens can become water activists within their local ...

Big Lonely Doug

In the tradition of John Vaillant’s modern classic The Golden Spruce comes the story of Big Lonely Doug, one of the largest trees in Canada whose unlikely survival and discovery sheds light on the turbulence ...

Nature, Place, and Story

National historic sites commemorate decisive moments in the making of Canada. But seen through an environmental lens, these sites become artifacts of a bigger story: the occupation and transformation ...

Radical Transformation

By (author) Kevin MacKay
Categories: Political activism

Drawing on a vast knowledge of history, human evolution, philosophy, and modern complexity theory, MacKay tells a story that recognizes the marvels of human civilization while revealing its dark tendency ...