Conservation of the environment

Showing 1-10 of 21 title(s)
Sort by:

Still Hopeful

By (author) Maude Barlow
Categories: Civics and citizenship

From her days in second-wave feminist activism to her battle against the precursor to NAFTA to her indefatigable fight for social justice and water rights for all, Maude shares her stories and her expertise ...

A Brief History of the Earth's Climate

By (author) Steven Earle
Categories: Climate change

A Brief History of the Earth’s Climate is an accessible, illustrated, myth-busting guide to the natural evolution of the Earth’s climate over 4. 6 billion years, how and why human-caused global warming ...

Lead for the Planet

By (author) Rae Andre
Categories: Conservation of the environment

When a picture of a person who should be dead appears on social media, one woman begins a desperate search through multiple identities and across Western Canada. A mystery, a road novel, and a coming ...

Talking with Bears

Talking with Bears is an intimate portrait of Charlie Russell’s philosophy of nature, which evolved over the 76 years he graced this planet. Accompanied by stunning photography, the book is written ...

The Rise of Wolf 8

By (author) Rick McIntyre
Foreword by Robert Redford
Categories: Conservation of the environment

Yellowstone National Park was once home to an abundance of wild wolves—but park rangers killed the last of their kind in the 1920s. Decades later, the rangers brought them back, with the first wolves ...

Lost Feast

For readers of Michael Pollan and Anthony Bourdain comes an entertaining yet scholarly book about the foods we have loved to death. From passenger pigeons to megafauna, Newman identifies certain foods ...

Passion and Persistence

Diane Pinch’s non-fiction homage to Sierra Club BC provides an overview of the lasting impact the group has had, not only in BC, but in all of Canada. Replete with first-hand accounts, maps, and photos, ...

Whose Water Is It, Anyway?

Former senior water advisor to the UN General Assembly Maude Barlow chronicles the history of the Blue Communities movement and explains how regular citizens can become water activists within their local ...

Big Lonely Doug

In the tradition of John Vaillant’s modern classic The Golden Spruce comes the story of Big Lonely Doug, one of the largest trees in Canada whose unlikely survival and discovery sheds light on the turbulence ...