Biology, life sciences

Showing 1-10 of 19 title(s)
Sort by:

Taming Fruit

By (author) Bernd Brunner
Translated by Lori Lantz
Categories: Botany and plant sciences

A captivating cultural and scientific history of orchards, perfect for readers of Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire. Throughout history, orchards have served many sacred purposes: they are sites ...

Saved by Science

By (author) Mark J. Poznansky
Categories: Genetics (non-medical)

Examines the evolution of synthetic biology and looks at the power of microbes to effect dramatic changes in three of the most pressing crises facing mankind: food, medicine, and climate.

The Rise of Wolf 8

By (author) Rick McIntyre
Foreword by Robert Redford
Categories: Zoology and animal sciences

Yellowstone National Park was once home to an abundance of wild wolves—but park rangers killed the last of their kind in the 1920s. Decades later, the rangers brought them back, with the first wolves ...

Renewal

By (author) Andrés R Edwards
Foreword by Marc Bekoff
Categories: Applied ecology

Renewal explores the science behind why being in nature makes us feel alive and helps us thrive. Backed by cutting-edge research in cognitive science, Edwards weaves stories that reveal nature’s genius, ...

Les buveurs de lait sont des mutants et autres révélations étonnantes de la biologie

By (author) Guy Drouin
Categories: Biology, life sciences

This captivating foray into the world of biology, tinged with a hint of humor, is brought to you by a seasoned and passionate geneticist who is happy to popularize the most difficult aspects of the matter. ...

Magnetic North

By (author) Jenna Butler
Categories: Travel writing
Series: Wayfarer

From the endangered Canadian boreal forest to the environmentally threatened Svalbard archipelago off the coast of Norway, Butler takes us on a sea voyage that connects continents and traces the impacts ...

Euclid's Orchard and Other Essays

In her new collection of luminous essays, Kishkan unravels an intricately patterned algorithm. A madrigal of horticulture and love. Amid bees and coyotes, her touchstones of natural history and family ...

The Science of Orphan Black

An official guide to the science in the hit TV show Orphan Black by science writers Casey Griffin and Nina Nesseth, featuring exclusive insights from co-creator Graeme Manson and science consultant Cosima ...

Eat the Beetles!

Eat the Beetles! is an evolutionary, ecological, and cultural exploration of our conflicted relationship with having insects on the dinner plate. Epidemiologist, veterinarian, and The Origin of Feces ...

Let Them Eat Dirt

“A must-read for parents, teachers and any healthcare provider for children, Let Them Eat Dirt takes you inside the inside tract of a child’s gut, and shows you how to give kids the best immune start ...