Cultural studies: food and society

Showing 1-10 of 10 title(s)
Sort by:

Dinner on Mars

“This culinary cosmic outing is as creative as it is informative.” — STARRED review, Publishers Weekly

From Impossible Burgers to lab-made sushi, two witty, plugged-in food scientists explore leading-edge ...

Growing and Eating Sustainably

The industrial food system, from production to consumption and waste, is a major contributor to environmental, social, and economic problems. Powerful multinational corporations have consolidated control ...

Du beurre ou des canons

Ce livre explore l’expérience de la faim et des privations, constitutive de l’histoire allemande au début du XXe siècle, ainsi que le reflet de cette expérience dans la mémoire sociale, comprise ...

Farm The City

Farm the City is an introduction to the principles, methods, and realities of starting an urban farm derived from the success of Sole Food Street Farms, one of the largest urban agricultural enterprises ...

Lost Feast

For readers of Michael Pollan and Anthony Bourdain comes an entertaining yet scholarly book about the foods we have loved to death. From passenger pigeons to megafauna, Newman identifies certain foods ...

Eat the Beetles!

Eat the Beetles! is an evolutionary, ecological, and cultural exploration of our conflicted relationship with having insects on the dinner plate. Epidemiologist, veterinarian, and The Origin of Feces ...

The Vegetarian's Guide to Eating Meat

Growing up in a household of food-loving Italian-Americans, Marissa Landrigan was always a black sheep—she barely knew how to boil water for pasta. But at college, she thought she’d found her purpose. ...

Alternative Trade

By (author) Gavin Fridell
Categories: International economics

Free trade does not make a significantly positive contribution to a society’s well being, nor does real free trade exist. In Alternative Trade, Gavin Fridell confronts these assumptions through a passionate ...

Misplaced Distrust

Citizens of industrialized countries largely share a sense that national and international governance is inadequate, believing not only that public authorities are incapable of making the right policy ...